codec problem... but more to it than that.

CSO Tech Help Forum

Moderators: KG_Werfer, Sulla

codec problem... but more to it than that.

Postby JeremyBrown » Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:34 pm

I've been reading that many people experience a stream error, and that this can be remedied by downloading and installing the old indeo 4.1 codec. However, my problem takes a different form than what I think most people get. I've copied the error here:

Close Combat Error
------------------
Error : Close Combat requires Indeo 4.1 to display the
videos. Plese run the Close Combat Setup again.
Location : File : TBX_Resource.cpp @ Line : 925 VER: 3.99.03.3001

I have followed the messages advice and reinstalled many times. I've also tried installing the indeo 4.1 codec available on this site. Still no luck! If anyone's seen this before or has any advice for me, I'd really appreciate it! Thanks,

-jeremy brown
JeremyBrown
 
Like / Share CSO - Post

Re: codec problem... but more to it than that.

Postby Senior Drill » Sat Dec 23, 2006 3:07 am

First off, J.B., what are your computer specs and what OS are you running?

You can get around video problems by holding down the Ctrl key when you start the game. This will bring up the Option window and you should uncheck "Play Videos". This is a work around, not a fix.
C'est magnifique, mais ce n'est pas la guerre. - Pierre Bosquet, 1854
User avatar
Senior Drill
 
Posts: 1533
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2002 12:00 pm
Location: 22134
Like / Share CSO - Post

Re: codec problem... but more to it than that.

Postby JeremyBrown » Sat Dec 23, 2006 3:54 am

oh man! that's exactly what I wanted to find out! I always thought it was silly that game takes a dump if it can't play a video. I'll give it a try.

i'm still curious about this little issue though, so I'm running xp pro, sp2.
JeremyBrown
 
Like / Share CSO - Post

Re: codec problem... but more to it than that.

Postby JeremyBrown » Sat Dec 23, 2006 4:08 am

bad news... it still crashes!

I'm beginning to suspect that my cc3 executable is corrupted some how. if i tell it to ignore the error, i get a new one that says: Can't find Picture: 1007. anyway, i'm eager to hear what you think!

thanks,

-j
JeremyBrown
 
Like / Share CSO - Post

Re: codec problem... but more to it than that.

Postby Major_Breland » Sun Jan 27, 2008 2:57 am

I'm having the same problem! Where can you download Indeo 4.1? :confused-
Major_Breland
 
Like / Share CSO - Post

Re: codec problem... but more to it than that.

Postby Senior Drill » Sun Jan 27, 2008 7:37 am

From here:

http://www.closecombat.org/CSO/index.php?name=CmodsDownload&file=index&req=viewdownload&cid=17&orderby=dateD

And please, in the future, just use the default font, default size and color like everybody else does. That big font size is not needed, and is in fact annoying.
C'est magnifique, mais ce n'est pas la guerre. - Pierre Bosquet, 1854
User avatar
Senior Drill
 
Posts: 1533
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2002 12:00 pm
Location: 22134
Like / Share CSO - Post


Return to Tech Help Forum

cron
This site is not affiliated to or has anything relating to the philosophies of any radical, political, racist or fascistic organizations. fight fascism! This site is dedicated and serves as an information-pool to all close combat gamers.

Copyright 2015 -- CloseCombat.Org All Rights are Reserved.